According to the California Division of Workers Compensation, workers compensation insurance is the oldest social insurance program in the United States. Under this program, employees can receive medical treatment and rehabilitation services for illnesses and injuries sustained as a direct result of their employment. Workers compensation programs also offer wage replacement benefits for employees who aren’t able to return to work. In extreme cases where an injury or illness leads to the death of an employee, workers compensation insurance may also provide death benefits to the employee’s family.
In the state of California, you are required to invest in workers compensation insurance even if you have only one employee. If one of your employees becomes injured or sick because of the job, California law also requires you to continue to pay for any workers compensation benefits the employee is entitled to receive.
If you are a California employer with one or more employees and you fail to purchase adequate workers compensation insurance, you may be subject to legal penalties. The California Division of Workers Compensation reports that neglecting to purchase coverage is a criminal offense.
Possible punishments for this offense include:
Up to one year of imprisonment in a county jail
A fine of up to $10,000
State penalties of up to $100,000 ($1,000 per uninsured employee)
If an employee is injured or acquires an illness related to his or her employment while you are uninsured, you will be legally responsible for paying all of the medical bills related to the injury or illness. Because you are not protected by workers compensation insurance, the injured or ill employee will also be able to file a civil claim against your business.
Don’t operate your business without the proper workers compensation policy. Obtain the proper coverage before an accident occurs to protect the future of your company. Contact Precision today to learn more about the policies we offer.