The CLCA program offers income eligible good drivers afford auto insurance to satisfy California’s minimum requirements mandated by law. A qualified applicant is allowed up to two policies that covers one vehicle per policy. All household drivers and vehicles must be covered under a California Low Cost Auto Insurance policy.
How to qualify?
In order to participate in the program, there are several requirement that must be met. Delays can occur if any supporting documents or if the application is not received in a timely fashion. To qualify, drivers must:
Have a good driving record (No more than 1 point or at-fault accident)
Be at least 19 years old
Be currently and continuously licensed to drive for the previous three years.
Own a vehicle valued at $20,000 or less (without any loans)
Current vehicle registration
Meet income eligibility requirements
How much coverage is provided?
The program is designed to offer an affordable plan for basic coverage that includes Liability (Bodily Injury and Property Damage), Uninsured Motorists (Bodily Injury only), and Medical Payments. The limits are slightly lower than the state limits but having the CLCA program allows you to drive legally.
A basic California Low Cost Auto Insurance policy provides the following Liability limits:
Bodily Injury: Up to $10,000 per person and up to $20,000 per accident
Property Damage: Up to $3,000
Uninsured Motorists and Medical Payments coverage is also available for an additional premium.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: Up to $10,000 per person and up to $20,000 per accident
Medical Payments Coverage: Up to $1,000 per person injured
As previously mentioned, no physical damage coverage is provided for your vehicle through the CLCA. However, it can be purchased on a separate policy with our agency.
How much does it cost?
The rates*vary depending on the county you reside in. Here is a list of counties near our home office.
Liability – BI & PD ($10k/$20k/$3k)
Uninsured Motorists BI only – ($10k/$20k)
* Note: There is a 25% surcharge on Liability for unmarried male drivers ages 19-24
There are 4 payment options to choose from if you don’t choose to pay the full premium up front. Major credit cards are accepted.
$125 deposit with balance paid within 30 days
$100 deposit with balance paid in six installments every other month*
$125 deposit with balance paid in five installments every other month *
15% deposit with balance paid in six installments every other month *